James Patterson’s books are some of the most popular in the world. He and his co-authors are experts at mixing mystery with suspense and humor. But if you’re all caught up on his books, what should you read next?

The Black Echo by Michael Connelly

Michael Connelly’s Harry Bosch series follows Vietnam veteran and LAPD detective Harry Bosch as he solves crimes as part of his job as well as the mysteries of his own past. He investigates not only the crimes assigned to him, but also the murder of his mother which happened when he was a young boy, living in foster care. The series currently has 22 books, the first of which is The Black Echo.

For maverick LAPD homicide detective Harry Bosch, the body in the drainpipe at Mulholland Dam is more than another anonymous statistic. This one is personal…because the murdered man was a fellow Vietnam “tunnel rat” who had fought side by side with him in a hellish underground war. Now Bosch is about to relive the horror of Nam. From a dangerous maze of blind alleys to a daring criminal heist beneath the city, his survival instincts will once again be tested to their limit. Pitted against enemies inside his own department and forced to make the agonizing choice between justice and vengeance, Bosch goes on the hunt for a killer whose true face will shock him.

The Black Echo
When the Bough Breaks by Jonathan Kellerman

There are 34 books to date in Jonathan Kellerman’s Alex Delaware series. They follow forensic psychologist Alex Delaware as he helps the LAPD solve crimes, in many of which children are the victims. Alex has a background in child psychology and the education of gifted children which he uses to get justice for the most innocent of victims. The first book in the series is When the Bough Breaks.

Child psychologist Alex Delaware examines a disturbed young girl and uncovers evidence of a brutal double murder, a child molester’s grisly suicide, and a horrible forty-year old secret that continues to have an effect today.

When the Bough Breaks
Deja Dead by Kathy Reichs

Temperance Brennan, a forensic anthropologist working part-time in Charlotte, North Carolina and part-time in Quebec, is the main character in Kathy Reichs’s Bones series. “Tempe” is an extremely intelligent, much sought-after professional who investigates deaths all over the world. She uses the bodies of the victims to determine not only cause-of-death, but also a plethora of other information that helps solve crimes. The first book in this 20-book series is Deja Dead.

When the meticulously dismembered body of a woman is discovered in the ground of an abandoned monastery in Montreal, Canada, which is too “decomposed for standard autopsy”, an anthropologist is requested.

Dr. Temperance Brennan, Director of Forensic Anthropology for the province of Quebec, who has been researching recent disappearances in the city, is given the case. Despite the deep cynicism of Detective Claudel who heads the investigation, Brennan is convinced that a serial killer is at work. Her forensic expertise finally convinces Claudel, but only after the body count has risen. Brennan initiates an investigation, but her determined probing places those closest to her in danger.

Deja Dead



Accessibility Toolbar