Today the library is open from: 1pm-5pm
 

If you liked Enola Holmes, read these next!

August 11th, 2021
Categories: Books with All the Feels, News, Teen
Tags: , , ,

The first book of Nancy Springer’s excellent Tween/YA book series, The Case of the Missing Marquess, is now an excellent movie on Netflix. (I have read the book series twice in the last 7 years and watched the movie approximately 2.5 times in 4 days, so I’m qualified to speak about this.)

If you haven’t read the books or seen the movie, do it! They are different–in the books, London is a much scarier place, and Sherlock is too–but both are wonderful.

If you have read The Case of the Missing Marquess or watched the movie and are now wanting more, first read the other 5 books in the series! They are:

  • The Case of the Left-Handed Lady
  • The Case of the Bizarre Bouquets
  • The Case of the Peculiar Pink Fan
  • The Case of the Cryptic Crinoline
  • The Case of the Gypsy Goodbye

The covers got a redesign, so they could look like either of these:

If you’ve read all of Enola and are still craving more, some ideas:

If you loved Sherlock + Victorian London: Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Novels and Stories (Sir Arthur Conan Doyle) The beginning of the magic! Volume 1 includes the story that began it all: “A Study in Scarlet.”

If you loved Enola’s strength and crime-solving skills: A Study in Charlotte: A Charlotte Holmes Novel (Brittany Cavallero) Sherlock’s great-great-great-granddaughter is being framed for murder. Can she use her own detective skills, and her own (Jaime) Watson, to help her solve the crime?

If you loved the gritty Victorian time setting + a mystery: These Shallow Graves (Jennifer Donnelly) This one is set in NYC instead of London, but the Victorian setting still shines! (Or is covered in filth, to be honest.) Jo is a wealthy young socialite who dreams of being a reporter, but she becomes a detective instead when her father’s “suicide” turns out to be more complicated than it appeared. I highly recommend it!

If you loved Enola’s skills, but could use a bit more romance: A Spy in the House (Y.S. Lee) Mary is rescued from the 1850s London gallows, trained as a spy, and sent out to solve mysteries. She meets James, an engineer who is trying to solve the same case, and witty banter + solving crime ensues.

If you loved Victorian-era London and think it would be even better with vampires, warlocks, and demons: Clockwork Angel (Cassandra Clare). Tessa Gray is searching for her younger brother, but she finds an underground world of paranormal creatures. And some of them are trying to take over.

If you just think Enola is awesome and want another tough chick: Dread Nation (Justina Ireland) The U.S. Civil War took a turn when the dead started rising from their graves. In this alternate history, Jane McKeene is trained to fight them. It turns out that the restless dead are the least of her worries…

Happy reading!